Our Vision


Becoming the excellent administrative center to the island through establishing a public related administration

Our Mission


Contribution of the national development optimumly, managing necessary human and physical resources,ensuring a productive and efficient service to fulfill needs of people in Matale district


Matale was a site of a major battle in 1848 when the Matale Rebellion started and the British garrison in the Fort MacDowall in Matale was placed under siege by the rebels led by Weera Puran Appu and Gongalegoda Banda who are considered as national heroes in Sri Lanka. and surrounded with mezmerizing mountain ranges such as Knuckles lies the capital of the district the sity of Matale. the amaizing biodiversity of the Knuckles mountain range has amazed the whole world. because of the mixed climate conditions that are visible clearly Matale gets its unique looks. and the wild life is so rich we has some unique species that are only to be found in Matale. Matale district has some majoy development projects like Moragahakanda Kaluganga within its boundaries and Ukuwela and Bowathenna power stations help to light up the country in a huge way. and Dambulla the second largets city and the main economy point of the district has its own economic center in the city center that is a key point of Sri Lanka's economy system.

The total extent of the Colombo District is 1993 sq. km this includes 41 sq.km of water bodies.


Matale is a city with a significant rainfall. Even in the driest month there is a lot of rain. This climate is considered to be Af according to the Köppen-Geiger climate classification. In Matale, the average annual temperature is 25.3 °C. The average annual rainfall is 1860 mm

Name List of The Government Agent's

No. Name From To
1 A.L Perera 1955 1956
2 A Rrathnam 1957 1957
3 V.P.A Perera 1957 1959
4 U.A Gunarathna 1960 1962
5 K.B Dissanayake 1962 1963
6 V.C.B Unanthenna 1963 1965
7 H.R Amiti 1966 1966
8 S.L.B Amunugama 1966 1967
9 L.B Udalagama 1968 1969
10 H.A.G Abewardhana 1969 1971
11 Siril Gamage 1971 1976
12 N.A Nawarathne  1976 1978
13 S.M Thennakoon 1978 1986
14 Gunathilaka Mudannayake 1986 1989
15 G Dayas Amarasinghe 1996 1999
16 T.B Athavuda 1999 1999
17 Ramya Siriwansha 1999 2003
18 K Udage 2003 2006
19 H.M Gamini Senevirathne 2006 2010
20 K.H.E Meegasmulla 2010 2015
21 Neel De Alwis 2015 2016
22 D.P.G Kumarasiri 2016 2018
23 S.M.G.K Perera 2018 To Date